The Errant Hours - The Arrowsmith Trilogy Book One

My first novel, The Errant Hours, was published in 2015, and has been named one of the 100 Must-Read Medieval Novels by Book Riot.

“Welsh Marches, July 1284—the uprising in Wales is over, the leader gruesomely executed, the dead are buried. But for Illesa Arrowsmith, the war’s aftermath is just as brutal. When her brother is thrown into the Forester’s prison on false charges, she is left impoverished and alone. All Illesa has left is the secret manuscript entrusted to her—a book so powerful it can save lives, a book so valuable that its discovery could lead to her death."

The Errant Hours is on the Reading List for Medieval Women’s Fiction at Bangor University, Wales.

The University of Surrey commissioned two blog posts about the research behind The Errant Hours. You can read Part One here and Part Two here.

Order a signed copy on the Get in Touch page:

Buy this Book

The Errant Hours by Kate Innes

From an obscure Forester’s prison in a Shropshire valley, to Stokesay, Clun and Criccieth Castles, and from the humble village church of Eaton-under-Heywood to Wenlock Priory, the reader follows Illesa on her perilous course to the western reaches of medieval Britain, and the holy shrine of Bardsey Island.

lleyn peninsula in 13th century

Historical Novel Society Editor’s Choice

Read the HNS Review Here
Historical Novel Society logo


“Kate Innes’s glorious first novel is a lyrical joy. Up there with the best of Pat Bracewell and Elizabeth Chadwick, it offers utter immersion in an intricate, plausible world. A must read for the autumn.”
Manda Scott

"The Errant Hours is a beautifully crafted epic tale of adventure, love and courage, worthy of the greatest Medieval Minstrels. A perfect read around a crackling fire."
Karen Maitland

“A skilful mix of stories and an intricate and very gripping narrative. I enjoyed it immensely.”
Dr Henrietta Leyser – University of Oxford

"A beautifully crafted tome, The Errant Hours by Kate Innes is a unique insight into 13th century England. The narrative flows freely and Illesa’s story will keep the reader entranced from the first page to the last. I cannot recommend it highly enough and have already put book 2, All the Winding World, on my Christmas list."
Sharon Bennett Connolly - author of 'Heroines of the Medieval World'

Read reviews for 'The Errant Hours' on Goodreads

  • Wenlock Priory - a Cluniac house (photo by Grahamec)
    Wenlock Priory - a Cluniac house

  • Acton Burnell Castle Acton Burnell Castle

  • Clun Castle Clun Castle

  • Criccieth Castle - Wales Criccieth Castle - Wales

  • St Edith's Church - Eaton-under-Heywood, Shropshire St Edith's Church - Eaton-under-Heywood Shropshire

  • Stokesay Castle, Shropshire (photo by Andrew Matthewson)

    Stokesay_castle, Shropshire

  • Bardsey Island from Lleyn Peninsula - Wales Bardsey Island from Lleyn Peninsula - Wales

  • Bardsey Island from Lleyn Peninsula Bardsey Island from Lleyn Peninsula